My Book Shelves …..

I love when other bloggers show off their shelves with all the different books they have.

I rather think it shows some of our personality and I do think our choice of books tells what type of reader we are.

So… I though I would take some – rather bad -pictures of my shelves…

1.

These are my newest collection. They are the British Library Crime Collection.

I read ‘Verdict of Twelve’ which was available on Netgalley and I was hooked. I think there are 49 books in this collection so I have just 10 more to get.

IMG_20170808_133244

2.

‘Game of Thrones’.. I love the TV series and have not got round to reading these yet.

Full of blood, sex and dragons.. pure fantasy and complete escapism

IMG_20170808_134233

3.

Victoria Hislop is one my favourite authors. Like her I adore Greece. I loved ‘The Island’ and I have visited Spinalonga where the book is set. I also own a letter she wrote to me when I fan mailed her many years ago.

IMG_20170808_134119

4.

The Mitford girls are the most fascinating ladies. Crazy, wild and interesting.

I started reading about them when author Lousie Trager mentioned that she to was reading a book about their lives. I googled them and I was hooked.

I love when others reading interests influence my own.

IMG_20170808_134104

5.

Susan Hill.. I first read a Susan Hill novel when ‘The Woman in Black came to the cinema.

Then my husband bought me a signed copy of Dolly, which I loved. I have since read many of her novels and although my collection is small she is always an author I recommend.

IMG_20170808_134036

6.

The great Agatha Christie is my absolute favourite favourite.  I watch the TV shows whenever they are on and I have collected  quite a few of these on audio CD also.

I love nosy Miss Marple and Poirot is a clever and wise detective. My favourite tale is ‘And There Were None’ I have 3 copies of this book as they have been printed with different titles due to Political Correctness, which is a shame.

IMG_20170808_133312

7.

Carol Drinkwater is another favourite of mine. Originally an actress, she bought an Olive farm in France. She built it up from scratch and it is now a thriving business for her and her husband.

I love reading about her struggles and her delights and on a sunny day you can get quite engrossed in these books. Well worth a read.

IMG_20170808_134130

8.

Ashamedly I have never read a classic.. however my friend bought me Jane Eyre for Christmas and I decided t collect a few that I might like.

I will get round to reading them..eventually..

IMG_20170808_134049

9.

I love France…..and French translated novels and ones set in France appeal to me very much.

I buy them whenever I see one and read and re-read till they are quite dog-eared.

IMG_20170808_134258

10.

My precious signed copies and one in which I have had blog quotes.

I know I don’t have to explain these are I guess we all hold them dear. I have two shelves dedicated to these beauties.

My particular favs are ones by Angela Marsons as she created a character in her novels based on me..Tracy Frost – Reporter.  I am honoured and will treasure these beautiful books forever.

IMG_20170808_134142 (1)

11.

Favourite childrens books have always been a delight for me.

I used to own every Enid Blyton but when I got divorced I couldn’t take everything when I moved. This has always upset me but I have started to collect them again along with some other titles I enjoyed.

IMG_20170808_134210

12.

Last but definitely not least is Liz Fenwick..  I am from Devon and Liz’s books capture my beloved Cornwall beautifully.

I have spent much of my childhood exploring beaches and tiny villages in and around Cornwall and having lived the last 11 years in Durham my craving for a Cornish pasty is insatiable…One day I will return

IMG_20170808_145043

 

Well…are there any surprises here for you..

Happy reading x

 

 

3 thoughts on “My Book Shelves …..

  1. Your shelves look a lot more organised and beautiful than mine! I do like having a full series… And shame about losing your Enid Blytons. I was very lucky in that virtually all of the books minus a few dictionaries and science books were mine…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

