The House Simon Lelic

51mnopWTRuL._AC_US218_Pub: Penguin

Londoners Jack and Syd moved into the house a year ago. It seemed like their dream home: tons of space, the perfect location, and a friendly owner who wanted a young couple to have it.

So when they made a grisly discovery in the attic, Jack and Syd chose to ignore it. That was a mistake.

Because someone has just been murdered. Right outside their back door.

And now the police are watching them…

 

It was the cover that attracted me to this novel.

Jack and Syd were chosen to purchase their first house after attending an open viewing, the owner requested that a young couple buy the house and inherit all the belongings left inside.

Syd is an ‘ex’ junkie however at the smallest chaos can easily turn to her help of choice and Jack being very laid back is quite the opposite.

After moving in Jack notices a smell and discovers something in the attic. We are led to believe this is something grisly but I was disappointed and felt very early on that the blurb to this book had left me feeling deceived.

I loved the suspense of The House, but overall felt that this was book that started out leading one way and ended up another. I feel that the whole plot gave me the impression of being about a house but in reality was more about the people that lived there.

I have to be honest that whilst I enjoyed the read I didn’t love it. It is grippy and I was compelled to turn the pages but Lelic left me feeling flat. This was mainly due to my expectation not because it isn’t written very well, or that there is isn’t a story in the pages.  I just thought that it would be more like the one described on the back.

The cruelty of the fathers was horrendous and I think could trigger some deep emotion among some readers.

This is going to be a ‘marmite’ read. Some will love it and some will not. However, this was not for me but I haven’t been put off reading more by the same author. Lelics style is good to read and this was a mystery that will appeal to most.

4*/5

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “The House Simon Lelic

  1. I agree that the cover is fabulous. Sometimes I think that authors of book blurbs have a lot to answer for… I wonder if you would have liked it more if you hadn’t read the blurb?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

