Hygge Charlotte Abrahams

cover98287-medium Pub: Trapeze

The most beautiful guide to the Danish custom of hygge, the everyday life philosophy for better living.

Hygge is a feeling of belonging and warmth, a moment of comfort and contentment. This beautiful little book will help you to find hygge and embrace it every day. Make a pot of coffee, relax in your favourite chair and discover for yourself how life is better with hygge.

 

I both love and hate books such as this one.

They are lovely to look at, with beautiful and gorgeous ideas of how to make our lives perfect. The words and pictures give us an idyll, that if we achieve this perfection we will all be content and wholly satisfied with our lot.
But what it really does is make us look at our mundane boring lives and fill us with a horror that we will never reach such a high level of happiness.
Hygge, pronounced ‘hoo-ga’ is the Danish ‘La Dolce Vita’ the Italian ‘Dolce far niente’ and the English ‘ Oh my God. my life is so dull’.
With gorgeous pictures of beautiful furniture and wonderful ideas of how to achieve Hygge, Charlotte Abrahams has written a coffee table book that makes us wish for Winter so we can all snuggle with cozy blankets, sweet tea and delicious smelling candles.

I love it.
But….. and it might be just me, but having read this book and looking at my own home with it’s battered sofa, and a hallway that needs re-painting, and realising that I cannot bake bread or that I do not have the inclination to de-clutter my endless pile of clothes that I haven’t worn for the last two years,
I have come to the conclusion that my own type of Hygge is me, sitting in front of the TV, with a glass of cheap wine with my cat, and a take-away.
My life doesn’t get more perfect than that and that makes me very happy. In my own very special way, I might have just achieved Hygge.

4*/5

8 thoughts on “Hygge Charlotte Abrahams

Leave a Reply

