The Ice Beneath Her Camilla Grebe

cover90286-medium.png Pub: Bonnier Zaffre

A young woman is found beheaded in an infamous business tycoon’s marble-lined hallway.

The businessman, scandal-ridden CEO of the retail chain Clothes & More, is missing without a trace.

But who is the dead woman? And who is the brutal killer who wielded the machete?

Rewind two months earlier to meet Emma Bohman, a sales assistant for Clothes & More, whose life is turned upside down by a chance encounter with Jesper Orre. Insisting that their love affair is kept secret, he shakes Emma’s world a second time when he suddenly leaves her with no explanation.

As frightening things begin to happen to Emma, she suspects Jesper is responsible. But why does he want to hurt her? And how far would he go to silence his secret lover?

Camilla Grebe has written a corker in this her debut novel.

The Ice Beneath Her is smoothly written and is quite seductive in the way it hooks it’s reader. It reads as though I was watching TV with the AD on, Descriptive, tense and addictive.

It starts with a brutal and bloody murder, and Detectives Peter Lindgren and Manfred Olsson liken it to a murder that took place ten years previous.

Told from the perspectives of three of the characters , it weaves, twists and turns., and we learn varying factors of each of their lives.

It is not a happy tale, and even the stories within the story, such as the tale of Sedna, Annika’s tale is tragic and the madness that envelopes the other characters is charged with unbelievable shock and dismay. Emma is as complex as complex is, Peter a damaged soul, only Manfred is jolly and genial.

I have to draw attention to another reviewer, Jo Robertson, whose review you can read here..mychestnutreadingtree.wordpress.com, having read this fab review I pushed this book to the top of my book pile and I am so glad I did.

Like Jo, this  was a one sit read for me and I was completely absorbed and engrossed by this novel. It honestly is a tale with a shocking  difference.

Camilla Grebe is an author to watch for, it is Scandi-noir at it’s ultimate best and with film rights already sold I can bet this isn’t the last we will hear from her.

5*/5

4 thoughts on “The Ice Beneath Her Camilla Grebe

  1. I’m chuffed to bits that you loved it! It’s just so different that it creeps up on you till you can’t put it down! And thank you so much for mentioning my review! It still means so much to me that someone puts their trust in what I have to say. Really glad you mentioned the film rights as I didn’t know that and think it would make brilliant viewing. Also Camilla tweeted me and says she’s looking to bring Hanne back in her next book as well! x

    Like

  2. That’s so fab.. thanks for the high recommend. I honestly don’t think I would have picked this up as quickly if it hadn’t been for your top review. I loved Hanne and Peter 🙂 Thanks for the visit. I rate you as one of my top go to reviewers 🙂 x

    Like

Leave a Reply

