Father of Lies S. E England.

51UxJ4yJwZL._AC_US160_Pub: EchoWords

Ruby is the most violently disturbed patient ever admitted to Drummersgate Asylum, high on the bleak moors of northern England. After two years with no improvement in her condition, Dr. Jack McGowan eventually decides to hypnotise her. With terrifying consequences. A horrific dark force is now unleashed on the entire medical team, as each in turn attempts to unlock Ruby’s shocking and sinister past. Who is this girl? And how did she manage to survive such evil? Set in a desolate ex-mining village, where secrets are tightly kept and incomers hounded out, their questions soon lead to a haunted mill…the heart of darkness…and The Father of Lies.

Father of Lies is dark, brooding and atmospheric. It is also very frightening.

Ruby hasn’t spoken or given any reason for why she committed her terrible crime, so now locked away, probably for life, in Drummersgate Jack has decided to advance her treatment and little does he know the forces that will awakened by doing so.

I do not believe in a God so therefore do not believe in the underworld of demons and ghosts, but this novel gave me such a scary thrill I could not put it down.

The thing that interested me the most, was that after speaking to Sarah England through Twitter she told me that her research was quite alarming for her. This I believe. She has written a petrifying and disturbing tale that I really liked, and one that had me looking under the bed before I went to sleep. It truly did give me nightmares.

There is one niggle with this book, as with all books I read, the author has written some of the dialect in local tongue. I hate this. If I know a book, for instance, is based in the North of England, I know of the accent. I do not need to read of ‘miners being buried down t’ pit’. Living in Durham I do know that there are lots of accents and not everyone speaks this way.

There are some interesting fictional facts with Father of Lies, such as why Drummersgate is so called, and this added to the mood of my reading. I read it in one sitting and was completely absorbed.

The next episode of the, what I believe to be a trilogy,is Tanner’s Dell. This book also sounds as spine-chilling and hair-raising, and I cannot wait to be creeped out once more.

3.5*/5

Leave a Reply

