The Weekend Wives Christina Hopkinson

51zWEY0ZPCL._AC_US160_Pub: Hodder & Stoughton

 

Weekend wife n. 1 a wife whose husband works away and only comes home at the weekends. 2 a wife who misses her husband when he’s gone, but wants him gone when he’s at home.

Emily’s vision of country life was building dens with the children, walking a glossy hound and cosy nights in by the fire. But her kids are more interested in their smartphones, the family dog has ‘issues’ and she’s permanently freezing. And when husband Matt ishome, he still seems worryingly distant.

Sasha and her husband Ned used to have a great connection, but nowadays the only connection between them is via Skype. And when a woman from Ned’s past comes with news that threatens the perfect life she’s built for her children, Sasha feels further from her husband than ever before.

Tamsin’s husband might be away during the week, but he’s never truly gone. He seems to know her every move, which is fine, sort of – until her first love reappears in the most mysterious of ways…

feel like Christina Hopkinson has peeked into my life and written a book about me.

I was once a ‘weekend wife’ and while I won’t say which of the wives I felt an affinity with, I will say Christina captured her/me perfectly.

The three women are funny, and completely ‘real’. I think most women will see themselves in these characters.

Emily, Tamsin and Sasha each have secrets, everyday problems and a friendship that binds them. The differences in their lives are what makes them enjoyable to read about and in the tense and sometimes insightful moments I feel that Hopkinson has written a clever and joyful read.

Each issue that the women encounter is captured in a sensitive and thought provoking way, and the family dynamics of each of the girls, while they don’t seem too happy, is like taking a look thorough the window of any house on your own street.

This is a wonderful tale. I loved it. I would have liked a bit ‘more drama’ but Hopkinson’s novel is perfect for a lazy day’s read.

4*/5

6 thoughts on “The Weekend Wives Christina Hopkinson

  1. I’ve been surfing online greater than 3 hours today, but I by
    no means discovered any fascinating article like yours. It’s
    lovely worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all site owners and bloggers made just right content material as you did, the
    net can be a lot more helpful than ever before. http://www.yahoo.net

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

