13 Minutes Sarah Pinborough

61Pu6V7htlL._AC_US160_Pub: Gollanz

 

I was dead for 13 minutes.

I don’t remember how I ended up in the icy water but I do know this – it wasn’t an accident and I wasn’t suicidal.

They say you should keep your friends close and your enemies closer, but when you’re a teenage girl, it’s hard to tell them apart. My friends love me, I’m sure of it. But that doesn’t mean they didn’t try to kill me. Does it?

couldn’t wait for Pinboroughs next novel after I read THE DEATH HOUSE, which I loved and I wasn’t disappointed.  Natasha has been fished out of the water, dead for 13 minutes, but the question is ..How did she get there?

Like most  teenage girls, her world revolves around her friends, her weight and whether she has the latest fashion accessory, and being ‘A Barbie’ , one of three girls along with her friends Hayley and Jenny all this really matters to her.

With twists and turns this fabulous novel is one that grips and shakes the reader.

13 Minutes gives great insight into everyday politics of life at school among girls who will do anything to be loved and be the most popular of her group. It almost makes me glad that my school days are over.

With references to drugs, sex and filtered with Natasha’s sessions with her counsellor and Police reports, it is brilliantly written. Although  a young adult novel I do think it will appeal to all readers.

It was worth every penny I spent on it ( it is a tad expensive), but 13 Minutes will stay on my shelf and will be recommended by me for a long long while.

4*/5

 

Leave a Reply

