Revival Stephen King

22084508 Pub: Hodder & Stoughton

In a small New England town, in the early 60s, a shadow falls over a small boy playing with his toy soldiers. Jamie Morton looks up to see a striking man, the new minister, Charles Jacobs. Soon they forge a deep bond, based on their fascination with simple experiments in electricity.

Decades later, Jamie is living a nomadic lifestyle of bar-band rock and roll. Now an addict, he sees Jacobs again – a showman on stage, creating dazzling ‘portraits in lightning’ – and their meeting has profound consequences for both men. Their bond becomes a pact beyond even the Devil’s devising, and Jamie discovers that revival has many meanings.

Revival is a curious little read and one that kept me quite entertained. Although I know it’s not going to be one my favourite Stephen King novels ( this is the 2nd I have read) I was fascinated by Charles Jacobs and Jamie’s encounter with the ‘electrifying’ man.

Frankenstein was a word that kept cropping up in my mind, and while it is not a horror story and not particularly scary, it is an unsettling read.

Jamie is a cute kid, a cool teen and in his later years is loyal to the people who matter most in his life.  His relationship with Jacobs is written with a kind of fondness, and even though Jamie knows that Jacobs work goes against his own moral and religious inclination, he feels that he owes the man, after all Jacobs did ‘cure’ his brother Con of his affliction and even helped him with his drug addiction.

I was disappointed by the ending of this tale, but from what I understand of Kings writing, Revival is true and typical to his style. I am sure most of his fans will enjoy this book.

3*/5

 

 

7 thoughts on “Revival Stephen King

  1. I worship Stephen King, but I agree with your review. Without giving away the ending, it felt like it was disjointed, as if someone just plucked it out of nowhere and put it in. I often wondered if a ghost writer helped with this book as it was good but not brilliant, like his earlier works. It’s worth reading, but not one of my favourites.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I felt the same about ‘The Dome’. It was a brilliant book, I really invested in the characters, but again, such a bizarre ending. I like the endings woven into books, so if you read it back you can see the clues. I’m so glad he has such a huge backlist though, I’m really enjoying working through them all. His old stuff is the best of all. I’ve never read Dolores Claibourne, I’ll have to look her up. I’ve yet to find anyone who can satisfy me more than Mr King when it comes to this genre. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

