Beneath the Lake Christopher Ransom

51Al9ROra9L._AA160_.jpgPub: Sphere

Thirty Years Ago
On a camping trip by a remote lake, the Mercer family enjoyed the vacation of a lifetime – until a violent tragedy forced them to make a decision that would haunt them for ever.

This Summer
When the younger Mercers learn their father is dying, the family reunites at the lake, seeking a second chance to put their lives back together. But something is waiting . . .

Four Days of Hell
Also arriving at the lake are estranged son Raymond Mercer and an alluring stranger, Megan, both ignorant of the family’s secrets. Within hours, they are all trapped in a relentless nightmare and fighting for their lives.

Some places are better left. Some secrets are better forgotten. Some people are better dead.

Something  bad happened at Lake Blundstone the last time Ray was there. He was eight years old, now approaching forty he is returning with the news that his estranged father is dying. He taking with him, Megan, a server at his resturant, a lie about their ‘relationship’ and a gun.

With everyones lives not going great, Warren Mercer calls his family on this holiday to reconnect and also to make amends for the awful event that happened thirty years earlier.

Beneath the Lake took a different direction than I thought it was going. What I thought was going to be a ghostly tale, changed into something else and then back again.

To be honest, I don’t know if I ‘liked’ this book, but saying that, it did have me reading like an addict. I really couldn’t put it down. I had to know how this read ended, but just when I thought I knew what was going on something else would happen and I was back to thinking ‘what is going on’.

I loved The Birthing House by the same author, but this tale is just not in the same league. It seems too messy, but maybe that is just my understanding, I really felt like I was mentally challenged by it.

Having said that, this is a scary read and I feel that everyone who does read this read novel will feel different about it based on what they think is happening. My understanding is that it’s a supernatural horror, but other than that I just don’t know.

This one had me stumped a little.

3*/5

 

Leave a Reply

