Under A Cornish Sky Liz Fenwick with Q & A

51f02+YSb1L._AA160_ Pub: Orion

Demi desperately needs her luck to change. On the sleeper train down to Cornwall, she can’t help wondering why everything always goes wrong for her. Having missed out on her dream job, and left with nowhere to stay following her boyfriend’s betrayal, pitching up at her grandfather’s cottage is her only option.
Victoria thinks she’s finally got what she wanted: Boscawen, the gorgeous Cornish estate her family owned for generations should now rightfully be hers, following her husband’s sudden death. After years of a loveless marriage and many secret affairs of her own, Victoria thinks new widowhood will suit her very well indeed . . .
But both women are in for a surprise. Surrounded by orchards, gardens and the sea, Boscawen is about to play an unexpected role in both their lives. Can two such different women find a way forward when luck changes both their lives so drastically?

Demi’s life is falling apart, her mother has died and she has just discovered that her boyfriend has filmed her during sex when she said no.

Demi escapes to Cornwall to lick her wounds and spend time with her elderly Grandfather.

Victoria is a different character altogether. Her beautiful Boscawen is under threat because of tragic events and for her, more tragedy awaits.

Liz Fenwick is the absolute Queen of writing about Cornwall. She somehow manages to transport you there and weave magic in a moment. The towns, the sea even some local history and traditions manifest themselves brilliantly in her novels.

Although there is tragedy in this tale, this is not a sad story. There is hope, love and a happy ending.

Having lived in Devon and spending my childhood holidays in Cornwall, I was reminded of the special place that Cornwall is. How I wish to return. The ‘Trago Mills’ reference made me smile as I remembered busy Sunday shopping.

I loved this book.

4*/5

Q & A with Liz Fenwick

Your books feature the beautiful Cornwall, is this your place of escape?

Yes! Even when I can’t be Cornwall in person I escape there in my head…it could be one of the reasons I love writing about it so much!

 

My favourite places are Looe and St Ives for the beaches and the simple culture, what are yours and why do they appeal so much?

I lost my heart to the Helford River years ago and that comes out on the page. Slowly I’m letting other parts of Cornwall slip in…

 

If your books were made into films, who would you cast as your heroine/hero?

Yes, please have them made into films. I’ve always cast my heroes because I write from the heroine’s point of view and I need to ‘see’ them. I even do Pinterest boards to help me with my inspiration…

The Cornish House – Mark is Hugh Jackman and Maddie is Rachel Weiss

A Cornish Affair  – Tristan is Matthew McFayden (as he was in Pride and Prejudice) but maybe Emily Blunt for Jude

A Cornish Stranger – Phin is Benedict Cumberbatch and Gabe could be played by Eleanor Tomlinson (although she is a little young)

Under A Cornish Sky – Victoria is Helen Mirren, Sebastian is Gabriel Byrne, Sam is Liam Hemsworth and I’m not sure on Demi

The cast thus for The Returning Tide is here https://www.pinterest.com/lizfenwick3/the-returning-tide/

 

Who do you like to read?

Everything. I have very catholic tastes in reading. I try and read a bit of everything during a year but my go to escape is historic fiction.

 

What is favourite way to unwind after a day of writing?

A large glass of wine and chatting with my husband…

 

Have you ever considered writing a different genre, and what would it be if you did?

Cozy crime –I think…

 

Which book would you like to have written?

Kate Atkinson’s Life After Life

 

What is your writing process and do you keep your 1st drafts as mementos?

I write a very dirty first draft and then shape the story out of the mess. Until the first draft is written I struggle to know my character or my theme. Only when I know them can I go in and carve the best story out. Yes, I do keep some of my first drafts. I use them sometimes when teaching and to remind myself what my ‘process’ is.

 

What do you prefer book reviews or fan letters?

I love hearing from my readers in whatever form they want to tell me what they think…book reviews can sting though!

 

You and Carol Drinkwater are my favourite authors. Who do you ‘fangirl’ over?

Oh, thank you so much!! I fangirl over so many people…Jojo Moyes, Diane Setterfield, Jill Mansell, Katie Fforde…

 

Do you have any writing rituals?

No, except I write better in my PJs and after I checked all forms of social media!!

 

Tell me something about Liz Fenwick only Liz knows.
I’m shy. Most people think I find it easy to be ‘out there’ but in truth it’s really hard for me!

2 thoughts on “Under A Cornish Sky Liz Fenwick with Q & A

  1. I loved this book. I have read all of Liz Fenwick’s over the last 3 years, and they’ve got better and better.

    This is a book I’ll be coming back to and re-reading every year or so.

    John

    Like

Leave a Reply

