Baby’s Got Blue Eyes L M Krier with Q & A

51BnAdClk4L._AA160_ unnamed

Someone is dumping bodies on DI Ted Darling’s patch and he’s not happy. Ted’s a good solid copper, in an old-fashioned way, with an excellent clear-up rate. He also happens to be gay and has his own unique way of dealing with any prejudice that brings him.

But this killer seems to be running effortless rings round him and every promising lead just takes him up another blind alley.

Then it starts to get personal …

I loved this book and from the start I knew it would be a good read.

Baby’s Got Blue Eyes, from the first page gets right into the drama, with the finding of a body of girl. Very gruesomely killed in fact. The DCI, Jim Baker’s daughter went missing a few years ago and every body that turns up the Police Dept are anxious that it’s not her.

DI Ted Darling is a fantastic character, good at his job, nice to his team, and he loves cats. He is fair, honest and black belt in most of the Martial Arts.

The story is written in way that takes you through the complexities of the Police Dept’s investigation, and you can tell that L M Krier has had some experience of this work. It is utterly brilliant. It is both interesting and exciting and then BAM something happens that changes the whole dynamic.

As a reader I never think too far ahead of a novel, I like to take it as it comes and find out the facts as and when they are presented to me. Baby’s Got Blue Eyes made me think, wonder and second guess. I was absolutely absorbed and read it in one whole sitting. Everyone is a suspect in this tale, it is gripping and although I hate the term, it is a page-turner.

It is addictive, compelling and very dark and one you will definitely talk about

L M Krier has self-published this novel but it deserves more and in my opinion could reach a No 1 slot in any book list.

5*/5

Thank you for answering the following questions Lesley.

1. Tell me about L M Krier.

I’m an ex-journalist, ex-freelance copywriter/copy editor, now retired from work and writing more or less full time. I live in central France and when I’m not writing, I’m out walking my two border collies or going camping with them.

2. This is a self-published novel. Have you ever submitted it to a Publisher? If not, why not?

No, I quite like being an Indie publisher, it puts me in control. Also I’m getting too old to wait for the time it takes publishers to reply to submissions these days!

3.Is this your first crime novel?

It is. I’ve previously written and published three travel memoirs, the Sell the Pig series, under my pen name of Tottie Limejuice, as well as co-writing another travel memoir, Take Three Birds.I’ve also written a mini guide to writing press releases, subtitled ‘Free publicity trough the media’, which has helped a lot of writers get noticed.

4.Why did you write Ted as being homosexual?

(Ted and I actually both prefer ‘gay’)!

It sounds unbelievably trite and cheesy but I really did dream the main plot oand most of the characters for Baby’s Got Blue Eyes, on Christmas Eve, to be precise. Ted came as a complete package in the dream and he was gay, though not remotely camp or stereotypical. I thought that was great as I got so fed up of reading crime novels where the main characters were all the same, divorced, drinkers, womanisers, all the typical clichés so I was pleased when Ted popped into my head as someone really different.

5. Baby’s Got Blue Eyes is quite gruesome, is there a dark side to L M Krier?

As an journalist, I was a court and coroner’s court reporter for many years so I heard a lot about that side of life and I found it fascinating. I’ve sat through murder trials and some pretty gruesome inquests and drawn on that experience for my writing, though have always tried to avoid gratuitous violence.

6. Mrs Hallam is the least likeable character, is she based on anyone you know?

She’s a bit of an amalgam of several people I have met over the years rather than one specific person. I suspect many of us have met someone a bit like her at some point in our lives.

7. Which of your characters do you like and identify with the most?

I’ve grown very fond of Ted. He has his faults, of course, but he does try to respect others as he wishes to be respected himself and that generally works for him. Some people said he is a bit too perfect but Book II shows a different side of him. He has some dark demons in his past.

8. I loved DI Ted Darling, will we be hearing from him again?

Most definitely! I have just finished the draft for Book II in the series, it should hopefully be out by summer, and I already have the plot for Book III swirling round in my head. Both are quite topical so I am keen to get them out quite soon while they are still current.

9. You live in a beautiful part of the world, what is your writing routine?

I tend to write a lot in my head whilst I’m walking the dogs. It gives me the chance to work out various scenes before I write them Because the dogs only speak French, as does anyone I am likely to meet on our walks, I can try some of the dialogue aloud as I walk. Then when I get back in, I stick the kettle on and get stuck in front of the computer to get it all down while I remember it. I write very fast, always have done, it comes from training to meet deadlines.

10. Who is your favourite author, and what book would you recommend?

That’s a tricky one, as I am always discovering new ones. I only read in French these days, whether it’s the original language or in translation. I’m an active member of the local library where we have an annual reading circle, usually crime novels, through which I have discovered a couple of very good new French authors, Olivier Norek and Ghislain Gilberti. I would find it hard to pick out one particular author, or book, as I read so many. I enjoy Craig Johnson, I really rated ‘Want to Play?’ (Monkeewrench in the US) by P J Tracy, and I’ve read a lot of Harlan Coben. I also read other genres, although crime is my favourite.

If you wish to purchase this brilliant novel, here is the link..

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Babys-Got-Blue-Eyes-Introducing-ebook/dp/B00TA4N5S6/ref=la_B00TB4S1V6_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1423987885&sr=1-1

Leave a Reply

